The everyday life of an academic standing for political office

Every once in a while you get one of those unavoidable and highly vexing diary clashes, when you just cannot be in two places at the same time.

Thankfully, I managed to attend a highly inspiring hustings event at BOND on Wednesday evening, then Thursday in the early hours of the morning I had to get on a plane and fly to Timisoara (my home town!) so that on Friday I could give a paper on participatory approaches to Romani Studies at the 2nd World Congress on Resilience.

Meanwhile, I managed to miss by a couple of hours the very exciting launch of the Green Party’s Euro campaign in front of the Houses of Parliament. Now looking at the photos and wishing I had been there!

But I’m really glad to be back by Tuesday to host what promises to be a great event organised by the European Greens in London, entitled An Open Europe for All, and featuring some of my favourite people: Nicholas de Genova, Jean Lambert and Ska Keller.

Leave a Reply

